Envy Not

kiss of death poblenou barcelona 1

Do not be so quick to envy
my sharp tongue and my
fearless hands.
Destroying the smile
of another with intent,
is my own crippling band;
that chokes me. Bruises me.
Not because of guilt, and not because of
shame. But because it leaves me
bitter and abandoned in the
hollows of my veins.
Destruction is a opiate, for
the anger that resides.
The gnarly twisted cruelty
that hides behind green eyes.
I am no advocate for the weak.
Nor am I inspired by the meek,
But I am;
by definition –
the kiss on your demon’s cheek.

2 thoughts on “Envy Not

Leave a Reply

